Posted in Inside & Out

30 for 30

The one in the orange is me.
The one in the orange is me.

When I was fifteen years old, my New Year’s Resolution was to get involved in the theatre. Within a week or two I was sitting in on rehearsals at a local community theatre, where I became an assistant stage manager, and then a stage manager, and then I auditioned for a couple plays, got a couple roles, and I was off. I was pretty much always involved in one show or another for the next five years. Then lots of things happened to dissuade me from pursuing an acting career, but, you know, I did it.

I haven’t followed through with something like that in a long time. Not completely. But I also haven’t always set realistic goals. So I’ve decided to make a list of things I’d like to do before my 31st birthday. Because if I don’t set goals, I have the tendency to accomplish nothing. So I’m going to be inspired by my fifteen-year-old self and decide to do some things with the next year of my life.

(The following are numbered to help me keep track of them, but in no particular order):

  1. Take voice lessons
  2. Learn 5 more chords on my guitar
  3. Use my gym membership at least three times a week
  4. Get a real manicure
  5. Plant a tree
  6. Raise some chickens
  7. Get my Etsy page back on track
  8. Have more date nights with my husband
  9. Ride on a train (I’ve done this many times before, but it’s fun, and I’d like to do it again.)
  10. Paddle a canoe
  11. Sew something (bigger than a button)
  12. Cook my way through the first Good Eats cookbook
  13. Go hiking
  14. Go dancing
  15. Have a spa day
  16. Take a parenting class
  17. Do a real pushup without shaking
  18. Go camping by myself
  19. Find a writer’s group
  20. Write a poem
  21. Read a book of poetry
  22. Volunteer for charity
  23. Visit Canada
  24. Visit Leavenworth, WA
  25. Use my pressure canner
  26. Read my fiction (aloud, in an organized setting) in public
  27. Attend a literary reading
  28. Read a book I’d never think to read
  29. Call my brother at least once a month
  30. Feed a giraffe

This looks like a lot of stuff, but when I think about it, it’s all achievable. Cooking through Good Eats: Volume One will take some commitment but I love cooking and I need to brush up my skills. I’m already signed up for voice lessons, so that’s no problem. The Woodland Park Zoo offers giraffe feeding opportunities, there are always tons of literary readings in and around Seattle, and unless my mother broke my sewing machine, I can probably manage to sew some new dining room curtains. The hardest of these to accomplish might actually be camping alone, because it will involve convincing my husband why I need to do it and managing to peel myself away from him for a weekend. But I’m resolving right now to do it. Do or do not do, as Yoda said, there is no try.

Leave a Reply

